What quitting my job for online entrepreneurship taught me

Five lessons no office job would have taught me.

Anum Hashim
6 min readJun 22, 2021
Photo by Dylan Gillis on Unsplash

It’s been about two years since I quit my job.

The initial plan was not online entrepreneurship. But it was a discovery that was hard to shake off. Over the years, I have tried (and failed) at several projects.

Finding my footing in this new, uncertain, often lonely world of online business can be challenging. Especially when work was so deeply tied to my identity.

I’m definitely not on solid footing in this new world of work.

Since I left my job, the world has changed. At least my world has changed.

Collectively, we’re getting through a pandemic. I’ve gone through a minor health crisis.

Despite all the uncertainty in my life, I am actually content. I am more content than I was before, which was the primary reason I left the corporate world — to escape from unhappiness and burnout. It was a risky but necessary move that has contributed positively to my mental well-being.

The biggest proof that it was the right move is that I wake up happy. I no longer wake up with a pit in my stomach of what the day might throw at me.

--

--

Anum Hashim

Finance professional / CPA on a break from corporate life. I write about money, productivity and life as a content creator.