How to effortlessly make your routines work for you

4 Questions that will help you commit

Anum Hashim
4 min readOct 14, 2021

I am obsessed with productivity and will admit I’m a little bit of a perfectionist.

This, of course, translates to a type-A style obsession with daily routines and completing daily streaks. (Currently, I’m tracking my habit streaks in Notion — if you were wondering).

Photo by Thomas Bormans on Unsplash

I love reading/watching videos on productivity. Whether it’s a new tool, a routine, or a habit-changing life, I have to know about it.

I’m constantly trying to change my routines, a minor tweak here, a little there. All with the hope that maybe I will unlock the key to success I’ve never had!

This has recently become a very unhealthy obsession. To the point where I found myself tweaking routines and habits, only to find that there was very little execution of the many projects I have going on.

Had I followed a less than perfect schedule, I might have made some headway on those projects.

I’ve tried a million and one routines. While some have worked for a while, others stuck only for a fleeting second. I recently stepped back to focus on why some of these routines stuck for me. While others, like waking up early, no matter the reward, always feel like a chore.

--

--

Anum Hashim

Finance professional / CPA on a break from corporate life. I write about money, productivity and life as a content creator.