Do multi-passionates ever win?

Maybe we belong on the scenic route

Anum Hashim
3 min readJul 18, 2022

For a while now, as a creator, I’ve been trying to “define my niche” or “find my zone of genius.”

Throughout my life, I’ve been told I’m indecisive. I used to think that was because I was afraid of missing opportunities, fearful of commitment, or simply scared of picking the wrong path.

Photo by Ashley Knedler on Unsplash

Indecisive or Multi-passionate?

After reflecting and working on various ideas, I’ve realized it is not indecision. There is a word that helps define my interest in many things.

I’m multi-passionate.

Numerous times in my life, I’ve convinced myself that I need to go down a particular path.

That path is THE path.

I chug along for a while. I am going all in with a sense of focus and obsession. I get into a state of flow.

But then, inevitably, I get bored, less committed to it every day. I started to miss the things I said no to in the past.

Slowly, my passion fades, and I wonder how I can regain that magic.

The thing no one tells you about being a multi-passionate creator is that, even if you are focused, you feel like you’re missing a part of yourself.

--

--

Anum Hashim

Finance professional / CPA on a break from corporate life. I write about money, productivity and life as a content creator.